Duckie DeMere Scholarships

Hawthorne Players is one of the oldest community theatre companies in the St. Louis area.  In addition to its theatrical productions in the Florissant Performing Arts Center, Hawthorne actively promotes the performing arts in the community, especially in schools.  A key component of this effort is a scholarship program.


Duckie DeMere Scholarships, named after the late veteran Hawthorne actress and director, have been presented  annually since 1992.  Over one hundred students have received grants totaling more than $68,000. 

2022 Scholarship Recipients

Lana Anne Berry

Pattonville High School

Emma Klasing

Incarnate Word Academy

Connor Lorino

Pattonville High School

Meredith Stroud

Pattonville High School

SScholarships will be awarded to North St. Louis County students involved in music, theatre or dance